soft silly music by a meaningful magical two-headed boy.

17 febbraio 2006 § 14 commenti

È stato ristampato dalla Domino l’album capolavoro dei Neutral Milk Hotel “In The Aeroplane Over The Sea”, uscito nel 1998 era da parecchio ormai introvabile. Voi non dovete mica ascoltarlo perché io penso che sia un disco bellissimo ma, semplicemente, ascoltatelo se pensate che il vostro cuore possa ancora emozionarsi con un disco, di questi tempi di plastica e marketting (sic).
È un po’ come se Syd Barrett l’avesse fatta finita con gli acidi e, scopertosi fervente cristiano, avesse ricominciato a suonare insieme ai Beatles di Sgt. Pepper ma senza megaproduzione e virati folk, però.
 
Se poi siete di quelli che vi servono pareri più autorevoli” di quello di un umile blogger, eccovi serviti con quelli riportati sulla retrocopertina del disco in questione:
 
“When I first started driving, In The Aeroplane Over The Sea was the only cassette I had in my Ford Fiesta for two years. It is amazing. Friendships can be gauged on the mutual love of Neutral Milk Hotel.”
Bob Hardy, Franz Ferdinand
 
In The Aeroplane Over The Sea is one of the most completely inspiring rock records I’ve ever heard… everytime I finish to listening to it I feel like I’ve lived through something I’ll never quite understand, something really big.”
Ben Reed Parry, The Arcade Fire
 
In The Aeroplane Over The Sea is absolutely the most inspiring album, lirycally, that I have ever heard. The first time I heard King Of Carrot Flowers I had intense goosebumps. Jeff Mangum’s lyrics are the closest anyone has ever come to putting my dreams into music. I don’t know what else to say, other than this is the one album I would take on a deserted island if I had only one choice.”
Boom Bip
 
“One of the few ‘indie’ rock records that I would consider to be a classic. Lyrically – complex and gruesome. Musically – simple and sweet melodic. It gets under your skin and stays there permanently. A devastating record from beginning to end.”
********** 10 stars
Andy Broder, Fog
 
 
Canzoni consigliate: tutte.
 
 
And one day we will die
And our ashes will fly from the aeroplane over the sea
But for now we are young
Let us lay in the sun
And count every beautiful thing we can see
Love to be
In the arms of all I’m keeping here with me

As we would lay and learn what each other’s bodies were for
And this is the room
One afternoon I knew I could love you
And from above you how I sank into your soul
Into that secret place where no one dares to go

Goldaline my dear
We will fold and freeze together
Far away from here
There is sun and spring and green forever
But now we move to feel
For ourselves inside some stranger’s stomach
Place your body here
Let your skin begin to blend itself with mine

 
§ 14 risposte a soft silly music by a meaningful magical two-headed boy.

Rispondi

Che cos'è?

Stai leggendo soft silly music by a meaningful magical two-headed boy. su granelli.

Meta

